Do you love to write?

I fell in love with writing when I was in prep when we had to write a diary entry each week for school.

After that, story writing was always my favourite part of school and I wrote stories out of school for fun.

In high school, English was my favorurite subject and my favourite assignments were creative writing and essay writing.

In year 11 I started getting in song writing (just lyrics). Later I got into poetry. But I am first and foremost a journal writer.

My mum bought me my first journal when I was 11 and I’ve been journaling ever since.

My dream is to be a full-time writer. At first I wasn’t sure what kind of writing I want to focus on: fiction, short stories, poetry, children’s books, young adult, fantasy, life writing. When I did a Master of Writing and Literature I found out I’m a life writer.

I love personal essays, memoirs, and writing my reflections and insights most.

What style of writing do you love most?

15 thoughts on “Do you love to write?

  1. I love to write! I write fiction mostly but I also like to write about my life. I’ve been writing since I was able and I’ve used it to escape into a world of my own creation when times have been tough. It’s a really special thing to be able to create something from nothing.

    Like

  2. I love to write as well! I’m still in the process of finding my voice, it’s a good thing you’ve found yours. I’m reading a book called “You Are A Writer (So Start Acting Like One)” by Jeff Goins. You’d enjoy it if you haven’t checked it out. It’s short and sweet. I love journaling, writing about my life and reflecting on all of the amazing experiences I’ve had.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love his books! That was a good one and I also liked The Art of Work and his most recent one Real Artists Don’t Starve. And ditto to that last line. Keep writing to find your voice!

      Like

  3. Are you sure we’re not the same person? 😂 Our backstories sound very similar! We had to keep a journal in elementary school, which I loved, and I started keeping my own in 6th grade (that’s ages 11-12 here), starting way back in 1997. I kept it up through high school and then had a LiveJournal in college (am I dating myself, here?) I took a break for about six years and then started up again writing in personal journals in 2015.
    I also wrote lots of fiction in elementary school during the summers. I had five-subject notebooks full of my stories! I had a few series going on, but my favorite was that I was an elf at the North Pole!
    My favorite style would also be personal essays and memoirs. Then historical fiction, as long as the characters and settings are believable, and then historical writings. I’m a history buff and have a writer’s crush on Dan Jones! 😜

    Like

    1. Haha, that’s so great! Love that. So glad you like personal essays too. When I was introduced to them a few years ago I was so excited.

      Like

  4. Hi ! I never normally comment on other people’s posts but I just came across your blog and I have to comment and tell you that I adore it! Your blog is so wonderful, I am so happy I just came across it. I am going to follow you right now so I can keep up to date with all of your posts; I look forward to your next ones! Keep up the great work (:

    Like

    1. Hey, sorry I missed your comment, it went to spam for some reason. But so glad I found it. Thank you so much, that means a lot. Your blog is amazing!!!

      Like

  5. I love the memoir/personal essay too, JD! There’s so much room for creativity in it…and after trying to organize writing, whether for blogging or business purposes, there’s so much freedom in just sitting down to write. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

