Have you read these life-changing books?

These are the type of books I want to read most. Books that change my thoughts and behaviour. Books that challenge me and teach me. Books that give me a new perspective.

I found this article with a list of life-changing books: 10 Life-changing books that will stay with you forever.

Here are the 10 books:

  1. The Alchemist by Paul Coelho – Read
  2. The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron – On my bookshelf
  3. Life of Pi by Yann Martel – On my bookshelf
  4. The Road Less Traveled by M. Scott Peck
  5. The History of Love by Nicole Kraus
  6. Conversations with God by Neil Donald Walsch
  7. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein – On my reading list
  8. Flow by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi – On my reading list
  9. Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder – Read
  10. The Red Tent by Anita Diaant

The article includes 10 more life-changing books:

  1.  The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  2. The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield
  3. The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay
  4. Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
  5. The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran
  6. Better by Atul Gawande
  7. 1984 by George Orwell – Read
  8. Food Rules by Michael Pollan
  9. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – Read
  10. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer

Some of them I’ve read, some are on my bookshelves next in line to be read, some are on my reading list that I’m yet to buy, and the others might have to be added.

Which books have you read and which ones would you recommend?


10 thoughts on “Have you read these life-changing books?

  1. I enjoyed The Alchemist, The Giving Tree, and The Life Pi, but they weren’t life-changing for me. I suspect what is life changing to one person is old hat to another. But those life-changing books are why I read, so I’m always interested in seeing such lists! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I’m looking forward to reading Life of Pi next. True, none of the books on the list that I’ve read were life changing for me either. Some were great reads though that I’m definitely glad I read. I’m looking forward to The Artist’s Way the most since it’s very practical and I’ve heard it’s impacted lots of people.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 1984 was amazing and definitely life changing, at least for me! Although seeing lists like these makes me think about how what’s life changing for one person may not be life changing for someone else! But I did like that book a lot and hope you do, too, if you read it. 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s awesome! I really liked that book because it got me thinking about life and culture and new things. So interesting. But it didn’t change any ways of thinking or living for me, overall. Love that it did for you, though, any chance you’d like to share how? I love hearing how books change people even and how not everything impacts people the same way.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Whoops, sorry I missed that you’d already read it! I think for me it was more just I had never even considered that something like that could be possible. And especially when the book ended I was in a state of shock a bit haha. So it’s not like I can point to something that I actively think about differently now, but it was definitely an experience that really effected me at the time and I can’t imagine it hasn’t had some sort of larger effect even though I can’t specifically point to it! If that makes sense.

        Like

  4. 1984 is on my list. A few more of these are what I’d consider “great reads.”

    I blogged about mine here, if you’re interested: http://bit.ly/2uLbPky

    Our personal perspectives make such a difference, and, no doubt, our state and station when we experience the book. We are prepared to receive certain wisdom at different times in our lives, I think.

    Like

  5. Great post!

    I love Alice in Wonderland! There is just so much going on in the books. What I find most interesting, is the Victorian anxieties that permeate the texts. Whether it be education, class, Darwinism or female oppression- the ideas surrounding the story are just as riveting as the story itself. I recently wrote a post on the female condition in both Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass. It is called ‘Girlhood Interrupted: Identity, Femininity and Anxiety in the ‘Alice’ books’. In it I look at how Alice seems to reject am imposed form of identity- that of a distinctively female one. A key moment is the baby and the pig!

    Like

Leave a Reply

