Do you like buying books in bulk or one at a time?

I went through a phase where I bought a book a week.

Then I stopped that because I realised there were a lot of books on my shelf that I hadn’t read yet. I thought I wouldn’t buy another book until I read all the books on my shelf.

Good in theory but sometimes there’s a book I really want to read so I’ll buy it.

Now, I live in a place where thereย aren’t any bookshops (something I hope to change one day), so I can’t buy a book any time I want. Whenever I go back home I love going to bookshops and op-shops to stock up on books.

I brought back twelve books from my most recent trip.ย I love that I got eight of them from op-shops, all for about $10.

Op-shop books

So far I’ve read seven of these twelve. Currently reading Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and next on the list is Life of Pi.

Love ticking off my reading list and reading more widely.

I definitely love getting books in bulk, but I love books so much that one at a time is fun too. All that matters is getting a book I’m excited to read.

Do you love buying books in bulk or do you prefer one at a time?

14 thoughts on “Do you like buying books in bulk or one at a time?

    1. Love that. I have a massive reading list so I love going into a shop and getting books from my list. But I also love hunting around and finding new books.

      Like

  1. At the library, I will get as many books as I can. However, at the bookstore, I do have to have some restraint! I typically go in with the intention of buying one book, but leave with several each time.

    Like

  2. Millions of years ago, when I was young, I’d often leave a bookstore with a whole stack of books, but you had to GO to the store then. Access was a limiting factor. I still borrow in bulk from the library. We bring one tote bag per family member to manage our heavy loads. ๐Ÿ™‚

    But purchases, these days, are more often made online. I get precisely the book I seek, and often just that one at that moment.

    I live in a populous region, so I avoid most shops, most of the time. I’m not quite phobic, but definitely crowd-avoidant.

    Book sales and uncrowded shops will still see me buying in person, by the armful. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I love that idea of taking a bag to the library. I have to buy online a lot more now since I live in a small country town. But even then I have a habit of splurging and buying in bulk. But I also go for a long time without buying anything. I’m definitely more of an all-or-nothing person – something I learnt from the author Gretchen Rubin.

      Like

  3. Great post, but I’m so sorry to hear that your new town has no bookshops *eek*!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    For me, the weekend is never complete without a trip to my local bookshop. I always promise myself that I will just browse, but as many of us book lovers know, that rarely happens…
    I literally have no self control when it comes to books and end up buying like 6 on any given day – never just one. Sure, there are several books on my shelf at home that I still have not read, but as I say, I’m a bookaholic and I love pretty covers to add to my shelf!
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Blogging! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. You sound like me – hehe! I sort of have this rule where I have to buy a book if I go into a bookshop. And if my budget allows it, I definitely get more than one. Just love books so much!!!
      What’s your favourite genres to read?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahah – yes, I mean there’s so many books out there how can I just buy one!
        Lately I’ve been reading a lot of Young Adult but I also enjoy several genres such as Adult Contemporary and Fantasy.
        How about you? ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        1. I think my favourite genre is fantasy for escape and the epicness, but I can’t go past nonfiction at the moment. Memoir/self-help style where I can learn from people’s journeys.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

