Do you ever doubt yourself as a writer?

Every so often I doubt my ability to write well and my ability to write something that matters. I don’t know if the doubt ever goes away completely but the words of a fellow writer helped me find a way to push through it.

A friend gave me a book called Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver. In the last chapter, Weaver shares the doubts she had about writing the book. She questioned if she was qualified to write it.

The words of a fellow writer told her she was with some advice that went something like this: “Above all, the narrator must be a struggler. We need to see the person grow through the story. We need to see them change.”

These words resonated with me and showed me why I’m writing my book: beach mission changed me and I want to write about how it changed me.

When I have moments of writer’s doubt and wonder – Will this book even mean anything? Will it be any good? Should I write it? – I remember to keep writing because I’m a struggler who has been changed and this book matters to me.

The writer’s advice guides everything I write. I’m a struggler who has been changed, is being changed, and will be changed and records the journey through the written word.

How do you overcome writer’s doubt?

One thought on “Do you ever doubt yourself as a writer?

  1. I think you’ve really hit the nail on the head. In the end a good story is about a character struggling. What they’re struggling with or against varies, but a good story shows the character, struggling, and in the process it helps ease the audience’s misgivings about their own struggles.
    I think the most repeated piece of advice I offer myself is “All those authors you admire had moments like this too. It’s no guarantee, but the fact that you have that in common means it’s at least possible you share other attributes as well, like the strength to succeed.”
    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

