Book and stationery wish list

Most of these things on this particular wishlist come from reading blog posts. Love discovering new books and supplies through blogs. Other things on this list are classic favourites that I’ve wanted for a long time.

Books:

  • One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus – This book looks so interesting. All the reviews I’ve read about it say that it’s a page-turner. Can’t wait to read it.
  • The Desire Map by Danielle Laporte – I love all things self-discovery so this looks interesting to help me figure out what my core desires are.
  • Rules for Living Dreambook – Not sure if this is more of a book or a planner or equal parts both, but excited to go through it for more personal growth.
  • The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkein (also the Extended edition DVDs) – This one’s been on my list for ages. It’s going be a special treat to myself, a reward for finishing the memoir I’m working on.
  • The Roald Dahl collection (preferably with the old covers) – I adored these books when I was younger. Looking forward to rereading them.

Stationery:

  • Bullet journal – I discovered this last year but it looked too complicated. For some reason seeing it again this year has made me excited to try it out. I love the idea of combining creativity with organisation.
  • Leuchtturm1917 notebook – These notebooks come in a rainbow of colours and I’d love to get one of each colour.
  • Tombow dual brush pens – I discovered these through bullet journaling. They look interesting. Excited to work with them.
  • Steadtler pens/Stabilo pens – I really don’t need more coloured pens but I’ve heard these are the two best brands so I want to try them out for myself. If my Artline pens are just as good, I’ll give these away as gifts.
  • Micron pens – black and colour/Archival black fineliner – Again, I already have Artline fineliners but I’d like to work with something archival so I can go over it with watercolour. Plus I’ve heard really good things about Microns.
  • New set of Prismacolor pencils – My old set has run out of good colours so I’m in limbo with my drawing until I get a new set.

What’s on your wishlist?


4 thoughts on “Book and stationery wish list

  1. Roald Dahl is a favorite. i love the book of short stories i have called Skin. There is a story in it about being able to hear the trees…amazing!
    i also love LOTR! i am contemplating starting it with my boys. the books are awesome works of writing. he had such a brilliant mind.
    i am nose deep in the desire map, boy is that work hard! inner development is the best thing i have done for myself though.
    And! i am finishing my first bullet journal! i LOVE it!!
    as for books i am reading most are self development. i am in search of a leisurely read that doesn’t have me examining my past for a better future.

    Like

    1. Love it, would you say The Desire Map is worth it? Any other recommendations for books to do with inner development?
      That’s awesome, go you! I have no idea if the bullet journal will work for me but I’ve bought my first one and we’ll see how we go.

      Like

      1. I just had a revelation with the book, so it’s worth it for me. i also have a group of women that i am reading the book with (we all share the same life coach whose is hosting them). i have read lots of books on my journey, not all self help. one of my favorites is Warrior Goddess Training. the others that i would recommend are the four agreements, women who run with wolves, the mandala workbook and creating mandalas. i have also found yoga to be very helpful on my journey, although it is hard for me to find a good class in my area.
        as for the bullet journal, mine went from being a calender, list collecting place to a more traditional art/soul work journal. i do keep the monthly spread as a place to keep lists and such. i found an electronic calendar to be more helpful in the day to day planning (my hubby and kids have access to it also). my only advise is to not get overwhelmed by the amazing bujos and artists out there. make it your own and use it in a way that makes sense to you.

        Like

        1. Yay, that sounds promising. Awesome, thanks so much for the book recommendations to check out.
          Definitely excited to get stuck into the bullet journal and expecting it might be a long process of experimentation. Just not sure if I’ll be patient enough to persist until I find something that works for me. I already have a journal, a wall calendar, an art diary, etc. so just not sure if/how to combine them all or if my current system works fine. Guess I’ll just play around with different things that can go in the bullet journal and see if it works.

          Like

Leave a Reply

