The quote that helped me self-publish my first book

In 2014 I was inspired by blog posts about writing and put together a book called Fall in Love with Writing. Over 200 bloggers from around the world were included in the book as we shared our love for writing.

There are sections on journal writing, poetry, travel writing, letter writing, blog writing, and gratitude lists. And we also discuss writing tools, writing locations, and writing advice.

On the journey to self-publish, I handed the book to an editor and then I freaked out about publishing it. Thoughts of fear rushed through my mind: What if it’s no good?

I emailed the editor and shared my fears. I asked her for her honest opinion about the book. She said she wouldn’t have taken on the project if she didn’t think the book was any good.

That reassured me. But what really helped was a quote she shared with me. It took away my fears and I was excited to get my book out there.

This is the quote she shared with me:

“Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best.” – Henry Van Dyke

It told me that it didn’t matter if the book was the best, it just mattered that it came from my heart and I gave it a go.

It’s my first self-published book and I let go of the pressure for it to be perfect and brilliant. Instead I saw it as an experiment and a starting point. Something to learn from that could help me with the next books I self-published.

Two other quotes that are similar and help me are:

“Don’t let perfect be the enemy of good.” 

“Done is better than perfect.”

All three of these quotes help me in life and in creativity. They remind me to simply do what I love and share it.

This book led to two further compilation books that combine the words from bloggers around the word. I self-published them and the process was a lot easier after having already done it with Fall in Love with Writing.

Things like cover design, page layout for Kindle, putting the book for sale on Amazon, and marketing were all much more familiar and a smoother process because of what I learnt the first time round.

So it was definitely worth it. I’m so thankful for that editor’s words of advice and the quote she shared.

Now as I look to publish my first book that is all my own words, I’m glad I’ve got this self-publishing experience to help me.

Do any quotes help you?

13 thoughts on “The quote that helped me self-publish my first book

  1. Thanks for sharing! My biggest fear is failure, but I’m taking that bull by the horns this year, biting the bullet, and getting ready to self publish myself. Reading your post reminds me I’m not the only one feeling this way.

    Like

  2. I’ll be headed this route soon on a series of interactive children’s books on hard to discuss topics. I have 25 topics lined up, and lucky for me my hubs is an artist among other things. It’s a niche for my field I decided on after having to make a book for a child patient… since I could find one. Inspiration can strike anytime! Not trying be a millionaire off it, so they’ll be priced low as to help as many people as possible. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

