What are your go-to comfort books?

These are two gorgeous childrens’/young teens’ chapter books written in a diary style.

I absolutely love the hand-written segments and the hand-drawn pictures.

I read them as a kid and I like to reread them as an adult every couple of years.

Fiddle-Back in particular is one of my favourite books. A good old comfort book. A quick and easy read where I can escape to another world.

I just finished reading it today and there were a few times I had tears in my eyes. It’s such a sweet, human, moving book full of friendship and family.

I grinned, I laughed, I cried – it’s brilliant!

Definitely recommend these fun, feel-good books.

What are your go-to comfort books?


10 thoughts on “What are your go-to comfort books?

  1. They look like lovely books!

    My comfort books are Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (which kind of feels like comfort food to me now, like my own literary mashed potato) and King Kong by Anthony Browne (which I’ve had since I was little, and I love love love the illustrations). I also like flicking through Tokyo on Foot by

    Like

  2. For me, my comfort book would probably be anything by Jodi Picoult. It’s strange because her books make me so sad yet so happy at the same time. I also like reading Pride and Prejudice too. The wit always cheers me up! Great post 💞

    Like

  3. Mine would be “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak. I actually just bought a replacement copy because I can’t find mine anywhere. (I blame my sister.)

    Another one would probably be “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster. Just an amazing book and absolutely wonderful. I have fond memories of it being read to my fifth grade class.

    Like

    1. Haven’t heard of that second one, and I’m tossing up if I should add The Book Thief to my reading list. I watched the movie first so thinking I may have ruined the book experience for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

